Ten weeks of newborn sleep: SnuzPod bedside cot review

January 5, 2015

Are you pregnant or have a newborn, and are interested in buying a co-sleeper cot that attaches to the side of your bed? We’ve been reviewing the SnuzPod bedside crib from Little Green Sheep for the past ten weeks. Here’s how we are getting on (update: with a new discount code at the end).

If you’re pregnant, make sure you also read my posts on things they definitely DON’T tell you in NCT classes (but totally should) and pregnancy diary week-by-week and 25 inevitable events in the first six months of baby

Review of the snuzpod bedside cot

Sleep – or lack of sleep – is such a huge topic for parents, isn’t it? Our first baby was never a fan of the moses basket – or of sleeping in general, really – so we were really keen to explore other options with our second. Anything to help us all get some more sleep all round. I’ve read so much about the benefits of bed sharing but it wasn’t a full-time option for us as we only have a standard double bed (and a toddler that sleeps in it at some point on most nights). So with Florence I wanted something that would offer the comfort, closeness and convenience of co-sleeping, but within our own spaces. This is where the SnuzPod seemed like a perfect fit.

SnuzPod co-sleeper bedside cot review - perfect for breastfeeding and co-sleeping

As we’ve had 10 weeks of baby sleep, here’s 10 things you might want to know if you’re considering buying one.

10) So what is the SnuzPod? It’s a 3-in-1 bedside crib that you can use as a standalone cot, a co-sleeper crib attached to your bed (with a see-through mesh side that can be folded down or zipped up) and as a separate bassinet if you take it off the stand. We’ve used it solely as a co-sleeper with the side zipped down, so it’s an extension of our bed.

Snuzpod with side down

The SnuzPod is made by Little Green Sheep, a company that was founded in 2006 to offer products for baby bedtimes. There’s an emphasis on green and organic materials, and 60% of things sold are made in the UK.

9) How easy is it to assemble the SnuzPod? I had a slightly relaxed approach to baby prep with my second pregnancy, but at 36 weeks pregnant I suddenly panicked that the baby would be early and made my husband put the cot together at 10pm (in the end I didn’t go into labour till 40+4, but hey, we were all ready).

Despite all this panic, it was easy to assemble the frame – the only problem we had was fitting the wooden poles through the fabric walls of the cot. The loops the poles go through were a very tight fit, and if they’d only been a millimetre looser it would have been a lot easier – we resorted to pliers in the end.

There are various different height options to line up with your mattress, and the whole thing attaches to the side of your bed using fabric straps. This was really easy to do, despite us having an odd Ikea bed.

8) How long can my baby sleep in the SnuzPod? Up to about six months, so much longer than your standard moses basket. As it’s recommended that babies sleep in your room for that long this is a big bonus and means you don’t have to move lots of furniture around or buy an interim cot.

7) So…how does our baby sleep in the Snuzpod? Well, like a baby really. For the first few days she refused to sleep anywhere other than on one of us. Once we started swaddling her she slept a lot better and she’s been fine in it since – apart from the usual multiple night wake-ups, of course (the SnuzPod is brilliant for many reasons I’ll come on to, but it’s not a magic wand for baby sleep – unfortunately!) One of the big problems with Eliza in the moses basket was that putting her in it would often wake her up, which is where the SnuzPod is a lot easier – as there’s no side, we can slide sleeping Florence back in with less disruption.

Co-sleeper cot

6) What about bedding? As the cot is bigger than a moses basket but smaller than a standard cot, you will need to consider this when buying sheets (our patterned one in the photo was specifically made to fit a Bednest – another bedside cot that’s a similar size).

Little Green Sheep sell a range of organic bedding, including sheets designed to fit. We were sent some sheets, a blanket and a mattress  protector along with our cot. The blanket in particular – made of a really soft t-shirt fabric – is lovely and has had a lot of use. The protector is a great idea as it means you can wash this instead of the mattress. It’s a worthwhile investment if you have a sicky baby (we do).

5) How does the SnuzPod look? It’s fantastically minimalist; all pale wood and cream fabric. The model we were sent to review is the natural wood version, but it also comes in darker wood and dove grey. It’s distinctly non-gendered and neutral.

Back view of Snuzpod cot

Apart from the assembly issues, the only other slight negative I would point out is the gap between the bed and the cot, as the mattresses don’t actually meet. However, it’s not huge, and when folded down the cot side can be used as a bridge (and we also have a fleece blanket rolled in the gap).

4) So…what did we think? 10 weeks into using it, I absolutely love it.  We’ve had it attached to the side of the bed the whole time, and kept the side down pretty much all the time. It has so many benefits and has made my life so much easier. I don’t have to get out of bed to bring her in with us, and don’t even need to sit up to check she’s OK. We do have a baby monitor with a motion sensor, but there’s nothing like the reassurance of just being able to look over and see the baby breathing. And although I sit up when breastfeeding, I’m able to reach and slide her over with minimal fuss. It offers all the closeness that I wanted, but within our own space.

3) My two favourite things. Being able to just reach to the side and touch the baby, soothe her, and hold her tiny little hand at any time. I can’t really convey how lovely this is.

And 2) being able to sleep directly facing her and just look and see her at any time. This is so reassuring.

Snuzpod bedside cot review - we review the Snuzpod

1) So finally, would I recommend the Snuzpod? Yes, absolutely. I’m a firm believer in doing what you can to make your life easier as a parent, and the Snuzpod bedside crib is definitely something that does, especially if you’re planning on breastfeeding. At £169 it’s more expensive than a standard Moses basket, but it will last longer and offers so much more. I only wish we’d had one first time round.

You can also read more about the Snuzpod in my post on six questions about the SnuzPod

We were sent the SnuzPod, mattress and bedding to review.

More post…car seat safety tips with Maxi Cosi, things I had no idea about pre-babies and how not to talk to pregnant women, a handy guide

23 Comments

  • fritha

    January 5, 2015 at 6:12 pm

    This looks fab, we looked at similar solutions to buy when Wilf was a baby but they were all much more expensive than this. This looks like fantastic value! x

  • Polly

    January 5, 2015 at 7:13 pm

    looks fab, at the minute Vega sleeps in with me at night, he seems to prefer being on my chest at night! Planning on trying to swaddle him soon and see if that helps 🙂

  • Snuzpod or chicco next to me? – BabyandBump

    January 5, 2015 at 11:13 pm

    […] item' and was a gift from my parents. I came across a great review which u might find useful: https://www.ababyonboard.com/snuzpod-bedside-cot-review/ There probably isnt much difference between the chico & the snuzpod. I was all set for the […]

  • Jess @ Along Came Cherry

    January 6, 2015 at 7:36 pm

    This looks brilliant! We ended up taking the side off Cherry’s old cot in the end and putting it next to our bed for Tiger but something like this would have been much better size wise. I just love the way you can just turn over and put them down without getting up, it makes life so much easier and I felt much better knowing they were in their own space but still so near x

  • laura redburn

    January 7, 2015 at 1:35 pm

    i like the look of it, and it’s awesome that it’s foldable! especially good if you have tiny rooms.

  • Lindsay

    January 9, 2015 at 9:00 pm

    I absolutely love my snuzpod, would recommend it to anyone. My daughter pearl is only 8 days old but has slept soundly in it from day 1, fingers crossed it continues!

    1. gillian

      February 20, 2015 at 10:16 pm

      It’s so good, isn’t it? I can’t believe I didn’t have one first time. I’m dreading Flo growing out of it. LOVE the name Pearl btw x

  • Laura

    January 11, 2015 at 7:06 pm

    Oh wow this sounds amazing!! I agree anything that makes life easier is great and the fact it’s bigger than a moses basket meaning they can stay in it for longer is great

    Laura x

  • Lori

    January 11, 2015 at 7:10 pm

    This looks great and super comfy and convenient. I think I would definitely look at this is I was pregnant again x

  • Jeni

    January 22, 2015 at 11:44 am

    Great review! A lot of our new-parent customers use co-sleepers so this info is super helpful. Thanks

    1. gillian

      February 20, 2015 at 10:10 pm

      Thanks so much! x

  • Georgie

    February 23, 2015 at 9:43 pm

    Great review Gillian! I’ve just bought a Snuzpod and can’t wait to use it! Just one question if you don’t mind helping me out? I’ve also bought a baby monitor with movement sensor but worried if it will work with the Snuzpod? I emailed someone from the company and they said the sensor may pick up my breathing in my bed next to it? Also, on the one that I’ve bought you have to have the wires come out of the cot under the mattress and stick the monitor somewhere on the outside of cot. I’m thinking I may have to cut a little hole in material for the wires and then attach the monitor on wooden bit – did you have to do anything similar? Many thanks x

    1. gillian

      March 25, 2015 at 11:24 am

      SO sorry, just seen this – hope it’s not too late! We also have a monitor with movement sensor and it does pick up our breathing / movement in bed (I only realised this one night when I forgot to turn it off when I picked F up and the alarm didn’t go off). We turned the sensitivity down on the monitor and it seems OK – it’s also fine when the baby’s in the cot when you’re not in bed (obviously, as you’re not in it). Ours also has wires – it’s the tommee tippee one – and we have the wire come out of the very corner of the cot on the side it’s attached to the bed and against the wall, so the baby / toddler couldn’t reach it, and the wire then goes round the back of our mattress and we have the monitor on the bed side table on the other side. Hope that’s useful! x

  • 12 signs your child is no friend of sleep |

    March 29, 2015 at 11:37 pm

    […] night feed, and greet the baby’s little face with absolute joy when I scoop her out of her SnuzPod and plug her on to the boob, however many times a […]

  • No

    April 22, 2015 at 4:05 pm

    Please can anyone tell me how long their babies lasted in this? It sounds amazing but can you really get to 6 months? Has anyone had one this long? Thank you x

  • Lotte

    May 25, 2015 at 2:52 pm

    Hi Gillian,

    We’ve been using the Snuzpod for the past 7 weeks and we can fully relate to your review. The only thing is that we have doubts about the mattress and are thinking about buying an aerosleep. It seems like the mattress is sagging and when we lift our daughter her swaddle feels damp around the back area. The last part could mean we’re dressing her to warm, since temperatures are starting to rise, but as a new mom my worried mind thinks about the mattress being not breathable enough. What do you think and do you have the same experience with the sagging? We’re using the standard mattress that came along with the Snuzpod.

    1. gillian

      May 27, 2015 at 4:27 pm

      Hello! Thanks so much for the comment, glad the review is useful. Have to say we’ve had no problems at all with the mattress sagging (and F is still in it at 7.5 months). I would get in touch with the Little Green Sheep customer services guys and they’ll be able to help (it’s 0800 028 1433 or you can email hello@thelittegreensheep.co.uk – someone should get back to you straight away). Let me know how you get on xx

  • Luisa

    July 4, 2015 at 3:27 pm

    Hi Gillian,
    I’ve been undecisive all along my pregnancy on which co sleeper to buy .. Stumbled this morning on your fantastic review and decided in 10 min to order 2 snuzpod for my twins 🙂 May I ask you where is that adorabile bedsheet from? Much love from Milan to you and your gorgeouse family

  • All change in the home department | A Baby on Board

    July 11, 2015 at 9:57 pm

    […] the cot and said goodbye to the co-sleeper. Sad times! I get asked so many questions about my SnuzPod bedside cot review, so I’m going to put them together in one […]

  • Hilary

    July 20, 2015 at 4:48 pm

    Hi Gillian, thanks for the lovely review. We also love our snuzpod! Can I ask if you or anyone else has decided what to do after your little one outgrows the snuzpod (or other bed extension)? Our little one is only ten weeks old but is very long, and I think she’ll need to move on before six months. Does anyone know of something out there for bigger babies, still co-sleeping? Or will I just need to move our (large, thankfully) mattress onto the floor and bring her in with us?

  • (Bed)room for two | A Baby on Board

    July 26, 2015 at 11:23 pm

    […] at the moment E has the Minnen expanding single bed from Ikea and now she’s moved out of the SnuzPod F’s in a compact cot. However, long term I thought we could move them into something more […]

  • Ten tips for breastfeeding support | A Baby on Board

    August 6, 2015 at 7:22 am

    […] Sleep is a big issue for all mums, however you feed (we’re still not getting much). Our SnuzPod co-sleeper cot which attaches to the side of your bed so the baby’s right there, was great for helping with […]

  • Heidi

    January 9, 2017 at 11:02 pm

    Hi, I love the sheet, please can you tell me where it is from? X

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Prev Post Next Post