• Calling all parents of small children – we had a sneak preview of CBeebies Thumbelina, which …
  • Reader, I have done something weird… But before I tell you about that, is anyone …
  • Today I’m going to talk about wooden toys, because we’ve been testing out …
  • Do you ever find yourself reading the same children’s books over and over again, …
  • My bid to banish the baby brain in 2015

    My name is Gill, and I have a really bad case of baby brain. Sleep deprived, hormonal and as a result, ever-so-slightly forgetful? Yes, yes, and yes…that’s me.

    One of my New Year’s Resolutions for 2015 is to be more organised in a bid to banish my baby brain. Although this probably won’t make me remember what I went into rooms for, or stop me leaving whole bags of shopping on the counter, I do think this will go some way to help.

    Microsoft Surface Pro 3 tablet review

    And help is at hand. I’m using the new Microsoft Surface Pro 3 tablet to try out and see how it can assist me in keeping to my New Year’s Resolution (if you’ve not heard of the Surface tablet, it’s basically the functionality of a laptop combined with the portability and touch screen joys of a tablet – you can see the range of Microsoft Surface tablets on the Argos website).

    Microsoft Surface Pro 3 reveiw

    I’ve made a little video of me unboxing the tablet, and my initial impressions (it’s my first vlog! Leave me your YouTube details too so I can subscribe to your channel).

    First thoughts? It looks great and seems incredibly intuitive to use. The keyboard cover is such a good idea and it’ll make life a lot easier (as at the moment I type most of my posts on my phone). The active boxes on the front page will also be really useful as it means I can have everything important upfront.

    I also think the portability is going to be a massive help, especially with blogging. Due to having two children I only have a tiny amount of time, so it’s tricky keeping up  (I currently have about 10,000 half done posts in drafts, and really long lists of things I’d like to write – sound familiar?) Having everything in an easily accessible place will be great – there’s only so much I can do from my phone or iPad, and our laptop – a Macbook Pro  – isn’t the easiest to take into bed (where I do a lot of my work at 3am).

    I’m going to be reviewing the tablet over the next few weeks and seeing how it can help me banish the baby brain…so stay tuned.

    This post is an association with Argos. 

    22 Comments

      • gillian
        Author
        February 20, 2015 / 10:49 pm

        High praise indeed! Thanks so much, awesome lady xx

    1. January 20, 2015 / 10:36 pm

      Love your video Gillian… how did you manage to do that so concisely? I need tips! I’m really intrigued to see how you get on with this, I think they look fab but I’d love to know if they’re worth the money!

      • gillian
        Author
        February 20, 2015 / 10:13 pm

        Thanks so much, no idea as I’m such a rambler and often go off on complete tangents normally (as my husband will tell you). The Surface is brilliant so far, I don’t use anything else now. It is pretty expensive although there is a cheaper one x

    2. January 20, 2015 / 11:11 pm

      Wow Gill you are a natural on film. Love this video and the Microsoft Pro 3 looks fantastic. I’m going to tell Tom about it as his laptop is about to die and this would be a much better option! x

    3. January 21, 2015 / 1:12 am

      Gill you are a video pro! Loved watching you unbox the tablet..(maybe i’ll get hooked on unboxing eek) it looks great and super easy to use, hope it helps with the baby brain. x

      • gillian
        Author
        February 20, 2015 / 10:53 pm

        Thanks, lady! It’s been so brilliant so far – still haven’t used the proper laptop since I’ve had it x

      • gillian
        Author
        February 20, 2015 / 10:49 pm

        Thank you! x

    4. January 22, 2015 / 10:01 am

      Gill, you are amazing on video! Plus, you look gorgeous for someone who has baby brain. Look forward to more vlogs! x

      • gillian
        Author
        February 20, 2015 / 10:11 pm

        Eee thanks so much – lovely thing to say. It really wasn’t as awful as I thought it would be. I need to get round to doing another! x

    5. January 22, 2015 / 4:05 pm

      Wow this tablet looks really impressive – anything that will make life easier I am all about. I love your vlog by the way (and your wallpaper is amazing!) Great review

      Laura x

      • gillian
        Author
        February 20, 2015 / 10:53 pm

        It’s made such a difference already. And thanks for the wallpaper love! x

    6. January 24, 2015 / 11:31 am

      You’re such a natural vlogger! I still um and ah on my videos hehe (BuddingSmiles on YouTube if you fancy a look!) I recently wrote about organising my life better, baby brain is such a nightmare! This tablet looks great, I’ll be interested to see how you get on xx

      • gillian
        Author
        February 20, 2015 / 10:52 pm

        Thank you, it’s really weird looking at yourself on film isn’t it? Doesn’t seem like me at all! x

    7. Victoria Biggs
      January 25, 2015 / 11:32 am

      I left my beautiful cream leather Pacapod in a trolley at the supermarket last week. Only realised when I’d driven home and had no house keys, wallet was in there too and baby was screaming in back of car to be fed. To top it off, he’d had his first jabs a few hours earlier. Possibly the worst day, ever!

      • gillian
        Author
        February 20, 2015 / 10:51 pm

        Oh noo! That sounds awful. And exactly the sort of thing I’d do. Hope your week was better x

    8. February 4, 2015 / 8:11 pm

      Love to hear how it goes, I’m very tempted by one of these when my current netbook gives up the ghost.

      • gillian
        Author
        February 20, 2015 / 10:51 pm

        I’ve been using it for a month now and it’s been really great. I’ve stopped using the ‘proper’ laptop entirely as it does it all and is just as portable and easy to use as the iPad. Happy to chat if you have any questions x

    9. February 4, 2015 / 8:15 pm

      This is really useful. I am looking for something that I could transport around easily. Also something that my eldest could work on. Thank you. I love the vlog too. Well done.

      • gillian
        Author
        February 20, 2015 / 10:49 pm

        It’s really portable – so impressed so far. And thank you xx

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.