Win: a three month wine subscription from Le Petit Ballon

June 14, 2018

If the idea of having wine sent to you in the post each month sounds like a dream, you need to check out wine subscription service Le Petit Ballon.

Win - wine in the post from wine subscription service La Petit Ballon review

Subscription services seem to be having a moment, don’t they?  Alex has a monthly beer subscription, and we’ve tried food delivery boxes like HelloFresh. The best ones offer convenience alongside the joy of discovering something new and different.

Step in Le Petit Ballon, where each month you’re sent two specially selected bottles of wine, right to your doorstep. They arrive along with a newsletter and tasting notes which give you tips ranging from the type of meal to serve it with to the best temperature to serve it at (if, like me, you’re still not that much of an expert despite many years of happily trying, this is all useful stuff for pretending you are).

Wine tasting notes from Le Petit Ballon

There are two different type of Le Petit Ballon subscriptions – the Grape Expectations box, and then the Age of Raison selection, which are the more premium bottles. For our Le Petit Ballon review we were sent the Grape Expectation box which contained a South African red and a French Sauvignon Blanc (my fave!) both of which were brands I’d not tried before.

Each of the wines is hand picked by Le Petit Ballon’s master sommelier, which means it’s a good way of trying new things if you tend to stick to your personal favourites or *ahem* whatever’s on offer at the supermarket. If you like the wine, you can also buy individual bottles from the website at a discounted price.

The Grape Expectation box we sampled for our Le Petit Ballon review costs £24 a month, so around £12 a bottle, and while it’s more expensive than your average supermarket offer, it’s not as ridiculously expensive as some wine clubs are. You do pay delivery charges on top though (around £5 per box, which bumps the price up, it would be better if this was covered in the price).

I really liked the idea though. Unlike my heady student days when we used to buy a bottle of generic £2.50 white or red wine (to drink *before* we even went out…) my wine consumption now is – mostly – about quality than quantity, and the idea of having a glass of something nice and an occasion wine that you can plan a meal around becomes more and more appealing.

Le Petit Ballon review - wine subscription service in the post

Following our Le Petit Ballon review, we’re giving away a three month subscription to Le Petit Ballon, comment below and let me know your favourite colour of wine:

a Rafflecopter giveaway
The winner will be picked from all valid entries received before the competition closing date of 11.59pm on Sunday 6th July. To enter you must be 18 or over and based in the UK. More on the La Petit Ballon website here.

If you liked our Le Petit Ballon review, read more posts…things no-one ever tells you about being a grown-up and the five best London museums

97 Comments

  • Tracy Nixon

    June 15, 2018 at 9:47 am

    I love rose x

  • Kim Styles

    June 15, 2018 at 10:01 am

    I like white Wine the most .

  • Duncan Nagle

    June 15, 2018 at 10:14 am

    Health says red, my head says white, my heart says rose.

  • Sarah Rees

    June 15, 2018 at 10:37 am

    I like white wine

  • Yolanda Davis

    June 15, 2018 at 12:10 pm

    Rose is my favourite.

  • Caroline H

    June 15, 2018 at 2:14 pm

    Red wine for me.

  • Laura Jeffs

    June 15, 2018 at 3:55 pm

    I love red wine

  • julie laing

    June 15, 2018 at 4:18 pm

    rose

  • Andrew Petrie

    June 15, 2018 at 5:37 pm

    My favourite colour of wine is red.

  • Solange

    June 15, 2018 at 8:16 pm

    I’m a big fan of rose.

  • Sarah N

    June 15, 2018 at 9:34 pm

    My favourite is Rose

  • Louise A

    June 15, 2018 at 9:59 pm

    Red

  • Hayley F

    June 15, 2018 at 11:15 pm

    Red is my fav x

  • Kim Neville

    June 15, 2018 at 11:35 pm

    I like white

  • melanie stirling

    June 16, 2018 at 12:17 am

    White is my favourite.

  • Jane Willis

    June 16, 2018 at 8:24 am

    I love them all, red, white and rosé – my choice depends on where I am, what the weather is like and what I’m eating.

  • Leanne Hansell

    June 16, 2018 at 8:55 am

    My favourite wine is white.

  • CHRISTINE SUTHERLAND

    June 16, 2018 at 9:09 am

    Red

  • iain maciver

    June 16, 2018 at 9:52 am

    white wine for me

  • Rich Tyler

    June 16, 2018 at 10:51 am

    Red

  • Rachel Craig

    June 16, 2018 at 1:42 pm

    White wine.

  • Lindsey stuart

    June 16, 2018 at 2:24 pm

    I really enjoy a glass of white wine, very refreshing 🙂

  • Alice Dixon

    June 16, 2018 at 3:15 pm

    Rose is my favourite

  • Angela Treadway

    June 16, 2018 at 4:02 pm

    rose is my fav x

  • Rena Plumridge

    June 16, 2018 at 4:45 pm

    Red

  • ruth robinson

    June 16, 2018 at 7:56 pm

    my favourite wine is rose would love to win this x

  • laura stewart

    June 16, 2018 at 9:39 pm

    i like white wine x

  • Margaret Gallagher

    June 16, 2018 at 10:06 pm

    Red – i love all wine

  • Hazel Rea

    June 16, 2018 at 10:12 pm

    Rose – it’s so refreshing, particularly in summer.

  • Hayley Colburn

    June 16, 2018 at 10:39 pm

    My favourite is white

  • Laura Pritchard

    June 17, 2018 at 9:31 am

    I like Rose.

  • Michelle Ferguson

    June 17, 2018 at 11:25 am

    I like rose and white wine but not red

  • Laura Banks

    June 17, 2018 at 1:06 pm

    at the moment its rose

  • Ruth Harwood

    June 17, 2018 at 1:27 pm

    Love Rose xx

  • Bob Clark

    June 17, 2018 at 4:14 pm

    I love red wine

  • Nikki Hayes

    June 17, 2018 at 4:25 pm

    Rose is my favourite, with white coming a close second :o)

  • Claire Woods

    June 17, 2018 at 4:40 pm

    white

  • Cath Joyce

    June 17, 2018 at 8:46 pm

    My favourite is rose

  • Karen Barrett

    June 17, 2018 at 9:10 pm

    White

  • Alison Johnson

    June 17, 2018 at 10:17 pm

    I like white.

  • Tammy Tudor

    June 18, 2018 at 12:12 pm

    I love white wine

  • Keith Hunt

    June 18, 2018 at 12:44 pm

    Rose

  • clair downham

    June 18, 2018 at 2:13 pm

    white wine thankyou

  • Nicki Evans

    June 18, 2018 at 3:27 pm

    White wine

  • Liam Bishop

    June 18, 2018 at 3:39 pm

    Red, it goes with everything.

  • Dale Dow

    June 18, 2018 at 7:18 pm

    Oooh my favourite colour of wine has to be Rose, White is next but can’t stand red

  • Helen Tovell

    June 18, 2018 at 10:09 pm

    A dry white for me every time

  • Helen Adams

    June 20, 2018 at 10:36 am

    I usually drink red

  • Kim Carberry

    June 20, 2018 at 8:13 pm

    I really love Rose but will drink any. hehehe

  • Lynn Neal

    June 22, 2018 at 1:02 pm

    Red is my favourite!

  • Angela Kelly

    June 23, 2018 at 11:23 am

    I like a sweet white wine.

  • Pam Francis Gregory

    June 23, 2018 at 10:02 pm

    Love a good red!

  • Susan B

    June 24, 2018 at 4:20 pm

    Red is my favourite but I enjoy virtually all wine as a treat.

  • Alice Colling

    June 26, 2018 at 1:44 pm

    White, nice and cold.

  • Mum Reinvented

    June 28, 2018 at 2:11 pm

    White

  • John Tingay

    June 30, 2018 at 12:43 am

    I prefer most reds, the whites I like tend to be very expensive.

  • pete c

    June 30, 2018 at 2:48 pm

    my favourite is a nice deep red, delicious with roast meats

  • JULIE WARD

    June 30, 2018 at 9:21 pm

    White for me, its rude if you don’t finish the bottle once opened

  • Susan Hoggett

    July 1, 2018 at 4:54 pm

    Red for me, but I do like to try a good variety

  • Christina Palmer

    July 2, 2018 at 12:26 pm

    I like white wine the most although Rose is nice as well

  • Debbie Preston

    July 2, 2018 at 10:52 pm

    Usually have red win but love a chilled Rose on a summers day

  • Tracy Newton

    July 3, 2018 at 11:30 am

    I love a nice glass of white wine

  • Sarah Lee

    July 3, 2018 at 1:00 pm

    Red is my favourite

  • Iris

    July 3, 2018 at 9:06 pm

    I like red or white it depends on the occasion really, on a warm summers evening a chilled glass of white is perfect.

  • donna l jones

    July 4, 2018 at 8:16 am

    rose for me

  • Lisa King

    July 4, 2018 at 9:21 am

    I love white wine

  • Denise Wilden

    July 4, 2018 at 11:21 pm

    I love Red wine

  • Emma Whittaker

    July 5, 2018 at 12:31 am

    I love a good red

  • Natalie Thomason

    July 5, 2018 at 1:43 am

    A red

  • Kim Lam

    July 5, 2018 at 8:55 am

    In the summer, definitely Rose

  • sarah parker

    July 5, 2018 at 9:47 am

    I love red 🙂

  • EJ Dunn

    July 5, 2018 at 10:58 am

    Definitely ehite wine

  • Alison Clark

    July 5, 2018 at 11:50 am

    I’m not drinking at the moment but when I do it is white wine – this would be great for my mum as she is a wine drinker but I couldn’t see in your review if you have to have red and white or if there is an option to just have white? A fabulous idea though

  • Fiona Mallard

    July 5, 2018 at 12:08 pm

    I tend to drink rose

  • Vera Bahounkova

    July 5, 2018 at 12:18 pm

    I like white wine

  • Deborah Bird

    July 5, 2018 at 1:14 pm

    I like Rose x

  • jo liddement

    July 5, 2018 at 4:00 pm

    My favourite is rose wine but i also enjoy a very chilled white wine.

  • katie w

    July 5, 2018 at 6:05 pm

    has to be red

  • Christine Caple

    July 5, 2018 at 6:29 pm

    Rose is my favourite

  • olivia Kirby

    July 5, 2018 at 8:37 pm

    Fizz is my favourite then I like red and dry white, not so keen on a rose

  • sara owen

    July 5, 2018 at 8:46 pm

    My favourite is red wine is delicous after that its wone but im not a fan of white

  • Alison Macdonald

    July 5, 2018 at 10:52 pm

    Red 🍷🍷

  • Monica Gilbert

    July 5, 2018 at 11:43 pm

    I like rose, along with some varieties of white (like Riesling).

  • Miss Tracy Hanson

    July 5, 2018 at 11:45 pm

    Love WHITE WINE, you can have a lovely crisp Chardonnay which is perfect for this sort of weather.

  • claire Little

    July 6, 2018 at 12:46 am

    rose is my favourite

  • Natalie Gillham

    July 6, 2018 at 2:28 am

    White wine is my favourite.

  • Clare Hubbard

    July 6, 2018 at 1:05 pm

    Red wine

  • denise s

    July 6, 2018 at 6:17 pm

    favourite is white wine ,

  • Herbert Appleby

    July 6, 2018 at 6:52 pm

    red is my favorite wine colour

  • Karen Dixon

    July 6, 2018 at 7:03 pm

    I love rose

  • Sarah Hanson

    July 6, 2018 at 7:08 pm

    I like any wine but red is the best

  • LoobyLee

    July 6, 2018 at 8:29 pm

    It’s so cruel to have to pick a favourite. Hmmmmm White? Rose? Oh go on then, I’ll say rose

  • Caroline Anne Bellamy

    July 6, 2018 at 9:27 pm

    Rose all the way

  • Diana

    July 6, 2018 at 10:03 pm

    Red is my favourite 🙂

  • Jen Jackson

    July 7, 2018 at 6:09 pm

    I love white wine. Especially Pinot

  • Ruth Wollerton

    July 8, 2018 at 3:37 pm

    I love white wine – and PROSECCO xxx

  • Anna Brown

    July 8, 2018 at 10:58 pm

    Rosé is my favourite type of wine

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Prev Post Next Post